Know Your WHY! Enneagram Core Motivations Explained



Enneagram Core Motivations Explained.

The Enneagram is a personality system that has gained widespread popularity in recent years. It outlines nine distinct personality types, each with its own set of motivations, fears, and desires. Understanding these core motivations is essential in becoming more self-aware and developing more meaningful relationships with others.

Let’s Explore each othe nine enneagram types and their core motivations: 

Type 1 – The Perfectionist:

The core motivation of the Perfectionist is to be perfect and to avoid making mistakes. They have a strong desire to do things correctly and are constantly seeking improvement. They fear criticism and failure and strive for perfection in all areas of their life.

Type 2 – The Helper:

The core motivation of the Helper is to be needed and loved by others. They have a strong desire to be appreciated and to feel valued by those around them. They often put the needs of others before their own and can struggle with setting boundaries.

Type 3 – The Achiever:

The core motivation of the Achiever is to be successful and admired by others. They have a strong desire to accomplish their goals and receive recognition for their achievements. They can be highly competitive and often feel the need to prove themselves to others.

Type 4 – The Individualist:

The core motivation of the Individualist is to be unique and special. They have a strong desire to be seen as authentic and original. They often struggle with feeling misunderstood or disconnected from others.

Type 5 – The Investigator:

The core motivation of the Investigator is to understand and master the world around them. They have a strong desire to acquire knowledge and expertise. They can be highly analytical and often prefer to observe rather than participate in social situations.

Type 6 – The Loyalist:

The core motivation of the Loyalist is to feel safe and secure. They have a strong desire to avoid uncertainty and to be prepared for any situation. They can struggle with decision-making and may seek reassurance from others.

Type 7 – The Enthusiast:

The core motivation of the Enthusiast is to experience new and exciting things. They have a strong desire for adventure and fun. They can struggle with staying focused and often have many interests and hobbies.

Type 8 – The Challenger:

The core motivation of the Challenger is to be in control and to protect themselves and others. They have a strong desire for power and respect. They can be highly assertive and may struggle with vulnerability.

Type 9 – The Peacemaker:

The core motivation of the Peacemaker is to maintain inner peace and harmony. They have a strong desire for tranquility and to avoid conflict. They can struggle with asserting themselves and may prioritize keeping the peace over their own needs.

Understanding the core motivations of the nine Enneagram types can be incredibly helpful in improving our relationships and personal growth. It can help us become more self-aware and develop more empathy and understanding for others. Remember, while we may have a dominant Enneagram type, we all have aspects of each type within us. The Enneagram is a tool for growth and self-discovery, and it can help us become our best selves.

#Enneagram #CoreMotivations #PersonalGrowth


Learn more about the enneagram at: 


  • Interested in finding your type? Email with the subject: Find My Motivation and we will get you the enneagram assessment that is best for you!

Check out my Youtube video on this topic:

Share via
Copy link